Life In Chinmaya Vidyalaya – Part I – The very beginning …

October 20, 2006 at 4:08 am 16 comments


I’ve decided to put down all the memories of my school life , before they fade away ( no chance of that happening any time soon though .. ) , so , before I start , let me remind you that this is my blog , and so , I get to tell the story my way !

It all started on a summer day in 1998. I was getting ready to go to school , in Delhi , when my dad announced that we were moving back to Chennai. Back , because , well , I had done my
pre-kg years here , in Chettinad Vidyashram. So , anyway , with that announcement started a series of entrance exams… whose outcomes decided that I was destined to join Chinmaya Vidyalaya on Taylor’s Road… I had written exams in CV Anna Nagar and Chettinad too… and looking back , THANK GOD I didn’t go to any of those ! Judging by the fact that the entrance exams were the first exams that I had EVER written in my life , they went off pretty well !

Anyway , so my first day of school dawned… ( That is , after a tiny mix-up with my driver , coz I didn’t remember the name of the school , so we did some ‘navigation-by-visual-landmarks’.. ). The first sight that greeted me , among a sea of brown-and-white , was the assembly , conducted in a language I didn’t even know existed ( my mom told me later that it was sanskrit.. GOD ! and to think all other schools did it in english ! ).

I guess Tariq would identify with that ! so after standing through 45 minutes of sanskrit , the new teachers were introduced ( our beloved GGI also joined school this year ) and then Mr. Principal announced ” acdjually the newcomers please staaay baack , i have to acdjually allot the classes to the you”… Stunned , I waited patiently , until my name was called out ” Athuul Guptaaa… Go to class 4 YAAAA..”

Walking into class , I was greeted by 40 unknown faces , and just one empty chair to sit on… that happened to be next to a guy named Pritish Sai ( don’t we know him? lol ! )..
and little did I know that this was the beginning of a better than wonderful friendship ! I was in Raji Suresh Ma’am ‘s class… she was my first Sanskrit teacher , and thanks to her , I figured what a fun language it was !

The rest of the year breezed through , though there are some memories that stand out :

  • scoring 100 in the first ever math exam in my life ! ( wooooohoooo !!! )
  • the whole concept of ‘competing-for-marks’ with Priya , Hrushita and Priyanka ( wonder why only the girls were “studious”… )
  • dance periods ( man ! they were SUCH a farce ! )
  • the concept of c.c.a s – i played the tabla during the first cca of the year
  • the 2nd language – 3rd language thing…
  • shraddha dancing during one of the ccas ( LOL ! )
  • the big excitement towards the end of the year , when we were allowed to write with ink pens ( ” no Hero pens please ! ” )
  • sushant’s ‘helpful’ hint – ” this is a vegetarian school… no non-veg food allowed !”
  • the concept of my lunch being delivered to school…
  • and the best one – bhagvad gita recitation competiton ( and i used to think only poetry recitation competitions existed … ! )

All said and done , it was a pretty exciting year , during which I made loads of new friends… wrote loads of exams , and basically had a good time ! Little did I know that there were more such years to come !

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If at first … Life In Chinmaya Vidyalaya – Part I – The very beginning …

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kika  |  October 19, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    hmm..ya those were the days..damn good funnnnnnnn….cant believe tht we’re already gonna leave…anyway really nice post!..keep posting

    Reply
  • 2. vis312  |  October 19, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    nice post!!

    Reply
  • 3. iamvisheshur  |  October 19, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    oh oh looks like you do like your exams…and have ever won a gita chanting price??

    Reply
  • 4. atul  |  October 19, 2006 at 4:03 pm

    @ vishesh : YEAHHH !!!! i still have the trophy ! in 5th standard , i came 3rd in city level !!! yaaaaaay !! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 5. Barath  |  October 19, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    hmmm… the beginning…
    hope it stays long!!

    Reply
  • 6. AssasinNightmare  |  October 20, 2006 at 2:55 pm

    And So all tht stuff about Exams:Imperative and outdated was just another good post from a good student(you cld have got a 9/10 on tht article in ur 10th boards) , seems to me tht u like ur exams.

    Reply
  • 7. AssasinNightmare  |  October 20, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    and 1 more thing u got to adjust the time for posts and comments to GMT+5:30(ist) in the dashboard-settings-formattin option by selectin INDIA as ur country.

    Reply
  • 8. atul  |  October 20, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    @ assasinnightmare : hey , reveal urself… do i know you ??

    Reply
  • 9. Jayasindhya  |  October 21, 2006 at 9:22 am

    hey nice post..takes me back 7 memorable yrs..5A rocked,dint it???

    Reply
  • 10. atul  |  October 21, 2006 at 9:26 am

    @jayasindhya : MAN , that class SURE rocked !! what great fun !!!

    Reply
  • 11. Tariq  |  October 22, 2006 at 2:42 pm

    lol… you can keep the plagiarist title… anyway…

    nice memories and an identical feeling when got into school the first time..

    we have 150 days in this school left πŸ˜›

    Tariq

    Reply
  • 12. atul  |  October 22, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    @ tariq : nice to know.. 150 days.. hmm.. any ideas on how to make these more ‘interesting’ ?? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 13. priya  |  October 26, 2006 at 1:40 pm

    studious me… nice to hear tht

    Reply
  • 14. Pritish  |  October 26, 2006 at 4:11 pm

    atul…do u remember the
    “Shradda vs Atul” wars?

    Reply
  • 15. atul  |  October 27, 2006 at 2:24 am

    @ pritish : how could i EVER forget ??!!! but ofcourse , they haven’t been added coz they weren’t exactly what you’d call ‘happy’ memories.. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 16. DHANU  |  November 24, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    pretty neat man…
    the skl in the eyes of a gupta

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts


